Poetry

Let’s can’t sleep together?

He asked me what’s so romantic about him.
I said everything he does is. He ridiculed the idea.
All I could ever say to him was this.

“The way you kiss me is romantic.
The way you smile after I kiss you is romantic.
The way you wear my gifted tees almost everyday is romantic.
The way you keep staring at me like nothing else exists is romantic.
The way you hold me like you’ll never let me go is romantic
The way you let me sleep in your lap in the student’s lounge is romantic.
The way you say nothing while I bawl in anger at you is romantic.
The way you send me dinner when I had overslept is romantic.
The way you write me several beautiful poems over whatsapp is romantic.
The way you do everything right somehow is romantic.
The way you take me out on lunch on the highway is romantic.
The way you sit in the rock garden and JUST listen to me talk for hours is romantic.
The way you think I can conquer the world is romantic.
The way you don’t lick my hand when I cover your mouth is romantic.
The way you stand there while I try several dresses at the malls and pass a judgement even though you suck at it, is romantic.
The way you download the awesomest movies for me is romantic.
The way you cook prawns for me is romantic.
Me having an idea of how awesome a cook you are is romantic.
That expression on your face when you get excited about coke floats + me is romantic.
The way you never sleep before me at night and text me to sleep is romantic.
The way you wait for me anywhere, for how much ever time and are just glad to see me later anyway is romantic.
The way you give tell the best thing to do in any situation is romantic.
The way you don’t give a fuck to anything but me is romantic.
The way you check out every picture of me on facebook several times and tell me later about it, is romantic.
The way you squeeze my cheeks into a duck face and think it’s the funniest thing ever is romantic.
The way you buy me cake all the time is romantic.
The way you always there when I need you no matter what is romantic.
The way you just look into my eyes and smile like you haven’t seen anything more beautiful ever is romantic.”

He blushed. A little.

He held on to his overwhelmed self and retreated to talking about me.

1 thought on “Let’s can’t sleep together?”

Leave a Reply

